Chaturdashana Lokas - The Fourteen Cosmic Levels - THE HINDU PORTAL - Spiritual heritage Rituals and Practices


Thursday, December 26, 2013

Chaturdashana Lokas - The Fourteen Cosmic Levels

Chaturdashana Lokas
The Ātma, whose origin is Satyaloka (the level of the reality of God), wanders on its long journey through space and time on different cosmic levels until it again reaches its original home.
In Indian cosmology there are fourteen cosmic levels named - seven higher and seven lower Lokas. The earth is situated at the beginning of the higher worlds; six levels are located above it and seven below .
These worlds are not places in a physical sense, but are spheres of consciousness. They all exist on the earth as well as within us.
The seven lower levels are called Atala, Vitala, Sutala, Rasātala, Talātala, Mahātala and Pātāla. They accommodate those whose natures are inclined towards sensuality and compulsiveness and are of a lower level of consciousness.

The upper levels, however, illustrate the spiritual evolution of humans. Each level has a Chakra assigned to it. Our point of departure is the Earth (Bhūrloka) in the Mūlādhāra Chakra. The astral sphere (Bhuvarloka) is located in the Svādhishthāna Chakra. Next we experience “heaven” (Svarloka) in the Manipūra Chakra, and in the Anāhata Chakra we are admitted to the level of the Saints (Maharloka). In the Vishuddhi Chakra we pass through the cosmic sphere of the beings of light (Janarloka). Through discipline and purification we acquire clarity of knowledge and wisdom in the Āgyā Chakra (Taparloka). In the Sahasrāra Chakra we finally enter the level of absolute truth and reality (Satyaloka).

No comments:

Post a Comment

Have something to add to this story? Share it in the comments. By Writing Your Comments with Registered User - includes OpenID