Fundamentals of Ashtanga Yoga Asanas

The Fundamentals of Ashtanga Yoga Poses
Ashtanga yoga poses are more energy intensive compared to other forms of yoga. These moves are executed in a sequential and fluid manner and in parallel with controlled breathing. Speed is not important when beginning this form of body training. The synchronization of the breath with movement is more significant. Why? When proper breathing is combined with movement, the body releases energy that eases tension. As an effect, the person feels more relaxed.

Aside from that, the energy used by the body is transformed to intense heat and is released through sweating. Toxins and other impurities present in the blood stream are expelled from the body through this process. Practicing yoga indeed promotes the overall well-being of a person. This article discusses the basic concepts about the different series of poses for Ashtanga yoga.

Ashtanga yoga poses consist of three main parts: the opening sequence, one of the six main series, and the finishing sequence. These parts have been patterned such that the preceding movements prepare the mind and body for more difficult, strength developing poses. Surya Namaskara meaning Sun Salutation is the traditional opening sequence which is followed by the standing series.

This is then followed by one of the six fundamental series of the poses: The primary series known in Sanskrit as Yoga Chikitsa (translated as Yoga Therapy); the intermediate series called Nāḍī Shodhana (translated as Nerve Cleansing); and finally the advanced series A, B, C, D known collectively as Sthira Bhagah (translated as Steady Strength).

1. Opening Sequence
The sun salutation is like the preface of a book. This fundamental series is performed five times at the beginning of the Ashtanga yoga practice. The aim is to condition the mind for the session as well as to warm-up and strengthen the back and hamstrings.

There are two sets of sun salutation sequences. The first sequence has nine asanas (postures or positions) while the second sequence has seventeen asanas. The second sequence is just an extension of the first sequence. The sun salutation is then followed by a series of six standing postures that aim to strengthen the core. Mastering the opening sequence will provide a good base for anyone who would like to be a practitioner.

After executing the opening sequence, the yogi chooses from one of the six fundamental series of Ashtanga yoga poses. The primary series is called Yoga Chikitsa or Yoga Therapy. This series is composed of movements that aim to purify and restore physical health. It is performed only after warm-up to prevent injuries. The overall effect of this series is the progressive strengthening of the body.

2. Main Sequence
In the primary series, the movements are arranged in such a manner that each asana (posture or position) builds on the previous one. Postures in this series are primarily twists and forward folds that prepare the spine for back bending poses performed in the finishing sequence and intermediate series. Doing the opening sequence is strongly advised before proceeding with the primary series execution. Doing so will ensure that the yogi is protected from injuries and that the flexibility needed to smoothly transition to the next pose, has been developed.

The intermediate series of Ashtanga yoga poses is called Nāḍī Shodhana or Nerve Cleansing. The purpose of executing this sequence is to open and clear the subtle energy channels in the body. Proper execution of the poses in this series requires a higher level of strength and a sufficiently cleansed body. Therefore, mastery of the first series should be attained to maximize the benefits of nerve cleansing.

The advanced series of Ashtanga yoga poses is called the Sthira Bhagah or Steady Strength. This sequence of postures aims to strengthen the inner spirit of the yogi. Hence, advanced ashtanga yoga practitioners have more intense focus and a great degree of humility. They are also able to have a characteristic steadiness of the body and mind.

3. Closing Sequence
The finishing sequence is the final series of Ashtanga yoga poses. If the sun salutation prepares the body and mind for practice, the finishing sequence prepares the person for rest. This sequence consists of sixteen asanas specifically designed to cool the body. Although yoga primarily involves stretching, it is strenuous. In the finishing series, the body is relaxed.

Ashtanga yoga poses in the closing set also give practitioners the opportunity to reflect on the experience of the session. Aside from developing body strength, patience and humility are qualities that are cultivated as yogis go through the different postures. More difficult poses require patience in order to achieve proper execution safely and fluidly. Humility trains practitioners to accept their weakness and strive to be better. More importantly, the finishing postures allow practitioners to reflect upon the concept of UNION and how does one’s action contribute to the evolution of the entire world.



#buttons=(Accept !) #days=(1)

Our website uses cookies Learn..
Accept !