SMRITI - The social, economic and political laws

Smriti(s) are the books of social, economic and political laws which are changeable with time and have been composed by scholars from time to time as the need was. Amongts 250 Smrities (known to have been mentioned in different texts) only some 57 are traceable now, the most prominent ones being Manu Smriti.

After the last plavan, the learned King Vaivaswat Manu took the pledge of re establishing the displaced human society. He authored Manu Smriti in which he laid the basic natural, civil and criminal laws required to run a society. There are 12 chapters in ManuSmriti.

YajyaValka Smriti is another valuable one. It consists of 3 Chapters: Aachaar, Vyavahaar, & Praayashchita. Some twenty other Smritis are:

                                                              i.            Atri
                                                             ii.            Vishnu
                                                            iii.            Haareeta
                                                            iv.            Aushanasi
                                                             v.            AAngirasa
                                                            vi.            Yama
                                                           vii.            AApastamba
                                                          viii.            Samvarta
                                                            ix.            Kaatyaayana
                                                             x.            Brihaspati
                                                            xi.            Paaraashara
                                                           xii.            Vyaasa
                                                          xiii.            Shankha
                                                          xiv.            Likhita
                                                           xv.            Daksha
                                                          xvi.            Gautama
                                                         xvii.            Shaataatapa
                                                        xviii.            Vashishtha
                                                          xix.            Bhrigu
                                                           xx.            Naarada

#buttons=(Accept !) #days=(20)

Our website uses cookies. Learn..
Accept !
To Top