As Hinduism developed, it did not reject its parent traditions, but modified and assimilated them into
newer schools of thought. For example, the ancient Vedic notion of sacrifice, and the later philosophies of Sankhya and Yoga, have all been assimilated into the more recent school of Vedanta. Even the more sectarian sampradaya do not entirely reject other doctrines, but claim that they demonstrate a less complete understanding.

Despite a relatively inclusive approach, Hinduism has rejected those doctrines that do not accept its scriptural authority. Most notably these include Jainism, Buddhism, and the hedonistic philosophy of Charvaka. They are therefore called nastika, differentiating them from the accepted schools termed astika. There are six main astika systems, which are called darshanas (ways of seeing). The various groups and sub-groups within Hinduism usually subscribe to one or more of the six darshanas.

The Six Darshanas
The six darshanas are grouped as three pairs of "sisters." Each pair consists of one darshan dealing with theory and the other explaining the corresponding practice and methodology. For example, Sankhya forms the doctrinal basis for the discipline of yoga. Each pair is further explored in this section.

Some groups consider these schools to be hierarchical, with Vedanta the culmination of Vedic philosophy. This is somewhat supported by the fact that Vedanta means "the end of the Vedas" or, less literally, "the ultimate conclusion of knowledge." Certainly, Vedanta today represents the more theologically developed strands of Hinduism, and forms the basis for many modern theistic traditions.

VaisheshikaKanadaPhysics, especially atomic theory
NyayaGautamaLogic and epistemology
SankhyaKapila MuniPhysics and metaphysics
YogaPatanjaliSadhana (spiritual practices)
MimamsaJaiminiHermeneutics and ritual


Share on FacebookTweet on TwitterPlus on Google+

Post A Comment:

0 comments so far,add yours

Have something to add to this story? Share it in the comments. By Writing Your Comments with Registered User - includes OpenID