Page Nav



Left Sidebar




God Surya - The Sun God

L ord Surya is the ruler of navgraha  (nine planets)  that rotate around him in Hindu astrology.  It is also known as Bhanu, Grahapati, B...

Lord Surya
Lord Surya is the ruler of navgraha (nine planets) that rotate around him in Hindu astrology. It is also known as Bhanu, Grahapati, Bhaskar, Arka, Savita, Mitra, Pusha, Divakar, Vivasvat, Ravi and Aitya. Lord Surya is the son of Sage Kashyap and Aditi and is described as 'Aharpati' means Lord of the day and 'Jagat Chakshu' means Eye of the world. The surya rays living beings and nurture life and nourish. Thus, Lord Surya is described as 'time-giver' and 'life-giver' or 'Pranadata'.

He is the protector of the east and sanctifies his devotees with prosperity, fame and good health. Sunday is the ruling day of Lord Surya. He leads red ruby, gold and metal. Lord Surya is the leader of solar god and is one of the Adityas. He has arms and hair of gold. The celestial body is the sun and is visible in the sky. He is described as a red man with 3 eyes and 4 arms, riding into a one wheeled chariot pulled by 7 horses similar to the rainbow colors.

Lord Sun is the most powerful and majestic visible God. The Sun God has also played important role of Master Guru for many Gods, number of Devotees and Seers. In Hindu religion, symbol of Surya is considered as one of the positive signs.

In Hindu religion, the Gayatri hymn is also associated by the Lord Surya. Aditya Hridayam is another mantra associated with the son God, Surya. Shri Surya Ashtottar Shatnamavali has 108 names of Surya. Shri Surya Sahasranam is one thousand names and are describing one thousand qualities of Bhaskara. All names of Lord Surya refer to a quality of awareness.


Salutations to the Sun - Surya Namaskar
108 Names of Lord Surya
Prayers to the Lord Surya - Sungod
Lord Surya Ashtothram - Mantras
THE SURYA NAMASKAR - Practicing sun salutations